

June 21, 2011

Mikio Kataoka, PhD President, the Biophysical Society of Japan Professor, Graduate School of Materials Science Nara Institute of Science and Technology Ikoma, Nara 630-0192 Japan

Dear Professor Kataoka,

Thank you for your letter of May 23, 2011.

On behalf of the Biophysical Society, I am extending our most sincere sympathy to those who suffered such devastating losses from the March 11 earthquake and from the subsequent Tsunami and the Fukushima power station problems.

The Biophysical Society applauds and fully supports the extraordinary efforts and commitment that the Biophysical Society of Japan and the other 33 learned Japanese societies are undertaking to ensure the long-term viability of Japanese scientific research. We fully understand the importance of providing continuous support to young researchers to ensure that they see science as a viable future that can satisfy their aspirations. Such support requires direct economic assistance to those affected as well as support for the rebuilding of universities, research institutions, and research materials. We also firmly agree that your community's efforts to provide a forum for dissemination of accurate information are vital to re-establishing trust. This will ensure continued interactions between the Japanese and international communities, which are crucial for Japan to remain a world leader in science and technology.

We commend you and your colleagues for your efforts to "build a future of hope" and we offer our Society's full support for your goals.

Sincerely

Richard Aldrich Society President

ell WAGlat

OFFICERS

President

Richard Aldrich University of Texas, Austin

President-Elect

Jane Richardson

Duke University Medical Center

Past-President

Peter Moore

Yale University

Secretary

Dorothy Beckett
University of Maryland

Treasurer

Linda Kenney University of Illinois, Chicago

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Nancy L. Allbritton Ivet Bahar Patricia Clark Marco Colombini Enrique De La Cruz Karen Fleming Angel E. Garcia Angela Gronenborn Dorothy Hanck Amy Harkins Peter Hinterdorfer Vasanthi Jayaraman Antoinette Killian Tanja Kortemme Marjorie Longo David Millar Gail Robertson

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief
Edward Egelman

Petra Schwille Peter So

Claudia Veigel

Michael Wiener

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

H. Jane Dyson

Finance

Linda Kenney

Nominating

Enrique De La Cruz

Member Services

Dorothy Beckett

Early Careers

Damien Samways

Education

David Dawson

International Relations

Felx Goñi

Minority Affairs

Luis Marky

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Rajini Rao

Membership

Erin Sheets

Publications

David Piston

Public Affairs

R. John Solaro and Kathleen Hall, Co-Chairs