• About
  • Paper Awards

Paper Awards

BPPB has set two paper awards, namely
Award for Outstanding Biophysics and Physicobiology Paper and
Biophysics and Physicobiology Editors' Choice Award.
The detail of the award is explained below.

Award for Outstanding Paper

This award is given by the Biophysical Society of Japan to authors who contributed to the advancement of biophysics and to BPPB journal and its predecessor, BIOPHYSICS journal. The Society selects an article among papers that were published during a specific time span before the year of the award and have an established reputation. The award will go to a groundbreaking article of which importance has been recognized.

Guidelines for the Biophysics and Physicobiology (BPPB) Awards


2023 Yumeka Yamauchi, Masae Konno, Shota Ito, Satoshi P. Tsunoda, Keiichi Inoue, Hideki Kandori(2017) Molecular properties of a DTD channelrhodopsin from Guillardia theta. 14: 57-66

Shoji Takada(2019) Gō model revisited. 16: 248-255
2022 A. Kitamura, M. Kinjo, (2018) Determination of diffusion coefficients in live cells using fluorescence recovery after photobleaching with wide-field fluorescence microscopy. 15: 1-7
2021 K. Oda, M. Kinoshita, (2015) Physicochemical origin of high correlation between thermal stability of a protein and its packing efficiency: a theoretical study for staphylococcal nuclease mutants. 12: 1-12
2020 T. Sakano et al.,(2016) Molecular dynamics analysis to evaluate docking pose prediction. 13: 181-194
2019 D. J. Castillo, S. Nakamura et al., (2013) The C-terminal periplasmic domain of MotB is responsible for load-dependent control of the number of stators of the bacterial flagellar motor. 9: 173-181
2018 Y. Nakamura et al., (2016) Switching of the positive feedback for RAS activation by Biophysics and Physicobiology Vol. a concerted function of SOS membrane association domains. 13: 1-11
2017 T. Kawabata et al., (2013) LigandBox: A database for 3D structures of chemical compounds. 9: 113-121.
2016 Y. Sudo, et al., (2009) Comparative study of the ion flux pathway in stator units of proton- and sodium-driven flagellar motors. 5: 45-52.
2015 T. Hayashi, et al., (2012) Full-Quantum chemical calculation of the absorption maximum of bacteriorhodopsin: a comprehensive analysis of the amino acid residues contributing to the opsin shift. 8: 115-125.
2014 R. Kinjyo, et al., (2007) Similarity search for local protein structures at atomic resolution by exploiting a database management system. 3: 75-84.
2013 S. Metsugi, et al., (2005) Sequence analysis of the gliding protein Gli349 in Mycoplasma mobile. 1:33-43.
2012 C. Furukawa, et al, (2005) Ubiquity of log-normal distributions in intra-cellular reaction dynamics. 1: 25-31.

Editors' Choice Award

This award is given by the Biophysical Society of Japan to authors of the manuscript on BPPB who made a scientifically unique contribution to biophysics. The Editorial Board selects an article among papers that were published last year. The award will go to an article which caught the eyes of the an editor.

Guidelines for the Biophysics and Physicobiology Editors' Choice Awards



H, Yokota, Quantitative and kinetic single-molecule analysis of DNA unwinding by Escherichia coli UvrD helicase. 19: e190006
T. K. Suzuki, Phenotypic systems biology for organisms: Concepts, methods and case Studies. 19: e190011
E. Ito, et al., Dorsolateral prefrontal cortex sensing analgesia. 19: e190014
K. Inoue, et al., Coarse-grained molecular dynamics simulations of base-pair mismatch recognition protein MutS sliding along DNA. 19: e190015
T. Komoto, et al., Epigenetic-structural changes in X chromosomes promote Xic pairing during early differentiation of mouse embryonic stem cells. 19: e190018
Y. Araiso, et al., Structural overview of the translocase of the mitochondrial outer membrane complex. 19: e190022


R. Yoshizawa, et al., Biphasic spatiotemporal regulation of GRB2 dynamics by p52SHC for transient RAS activation. 18: 1-12


A. Nakamura, et al., Crystalline chitin hydrolase is a burnt-bridge Brownian motor. 17: 51-58
R. Sato, et al., Theoretical insights into the DNA repair function of Arabidopsis thaliana cryptochrome-DASH. 17: 113-124


S. Konno, et al., Uncovering dehydration in cytochrome c refolding from urea- and guanidine hydrochloride-denatured unfolded state by high pressure spectroscopy. 16: 18-27
S. Ishii, et al., Functional significance of HCM mutants of tropomyosin, V95A and D175N, studied with in vitro motility assays. 16: 28-40
J. Kaneshiro, et al., Second harmonic generation polarization microscopy as a tool for protein structure analysis. 16: 147-157
K. Shimizu, et al., Food deprivation changes chemotaxis behavior in Caenorhabditis elegans. 16: 167-172
N. Go, Snake Cube Puzzle and Protein Folding. 16: 256-263
L. Lee, Bohr equation and the lost allosteric Bohr effects in Symmetry. 16: 490-503


H. Iwamoto, Effects of myosin inhibitors on the X-ray diffraction patterns of relaxed and calcium-activated rabbit skeletal muscle fibers. 15: 111-120
S. Das, et al., Single-molecular and Ensemble-level Oscillations of Cyanobacterial Circadian Clock. 15: 136-150
P. M. Dongre, et al., Inhibition of Crude Viper Venom Action by Silver Nanoparticles – A Biophysical and Biochemical Study. 15: 204-213


K. Suzuki, et.al., Mechanical properties of spindle poles are symmetrically balanced. 14: 1-11
A. Zamani, et.al., Kinetic characteristics of chimeric channelrhodopsins implicate the molecular identity involved in desensitization. 14: 13-22.
Y. Yamauchi, et.al., Molecular properties of a DTD channelrhodopsin from Guillardia theta. 14: 57-66.
K. Shimabukuro, et.al., Demonstration of Correlative Atomic Force and Transmission Electron Microscopy Using Actin Cytoskeleton. 14: 111-117.
A. Hashimoto, et.al., The change of picrotoxin-induced epileptiform discharges to the beta oscillation by carbachol in rat hippocampal slices. 14: 137-146.


G. Iakovou, et al., Determination of locked interfaces in biomolecular complexes using Haptimol_RD. 13: 97-103.
Y. Suzuki, et al., Conformational shift in the closed state of GroEL induced by ATP-binding triggers a transition to the open state. 13: 127-134.
K. Nakagome, et al., Model simulation of the SPOC wave in a bundle of striated myofibrils. 13: 217-226.
R. Sato, et al., Theoretical Analyses on a Flipping Mechanism of UV-Induced DNA Damage. 13: 311-319.


Y. -W. Lin, et al., Electrophysiological characteristics of IB4-negative TRPV1-expressing muscle afferent DRG neurons. 11: 9-16.
K. Ikezaki, et al., Lever arm extension of myosin VI is unnecessary for the adjacent binding state. 11: 47-53.
Y. Furutani, et al., Specific interactions between alkali metal cations and the KcsA channel studied using ATR-FTIR spectroscopy. 12: 37-45.
T. Matsuo, et al., Structures of the Troponin Core Domain Containing the Cardiomyopathy-Causing Mutants Studied by Small-Angle X-ray Scattering. 12: 145-158.


Y. Yamazaki, et al., Mapping of the local environmental changes in proteins by cysteine scanning. 10: 1-7.
H. Itoh, et al., Microscopic heat pulse-induced calcium dynamics in single WI-38 fibroblasts. 10: 109-119.
H. Sunada, et al., Electrophysiological characteristics of feeding-related neurons after taste avoidance Pavlovian conditioning in Lymnaea stagnalis. 10: 121-133.


T. Maruta, et al., Single turnovers of fluorescent ATP bound to bipolar myosin filament during actin filaments sliding. 9: 13-20.
Y. Furutani, et al., Development of a rapid Buffer-exchange system for time-resolved ATR-FTIR spectroscopy with the step-scan mode. 9: 123-129.

Previous Page